top of page
Zondag Programma FG.png
Sunday 11am-11:30am
Magic of Eve
Constantine Napolov

As a dedicated promoter of contemporary music, Konstantyn Napolov is one of the Netherlands' most notable percussionists. He sees it as his mission to develop new repertoire for percussion, to discover new sounds and to collaborate with other art disciplines. As the creator of original projects, he collaborates with composers from all over the world and premieres works specially composed for him. Examples are David Lang, Martijn Padding, Louis Andriessen, John Luther Adams, Tansy Davies and Kaija Saariaho. In order to dive deeper into the ocean of new sounds, Napolov believes it is important to develop new instruments, so that non-existent sounds enter the world. For example, one of his recent creations “Eva” was brought to life. This instrument was made in collaboration with the artist Rob van den Broek for a new percussion solo work. To see and hear during his presentation about percussion instruments!

Lumen Napolov.png
Anastasia Kozlova - violin
Eva Tebbe - harp
Konstantyn Napolov - percussion
Sunday 11:30-12:30
Roaring Twenties 100 years later

The roaring twenties of the last century were the starting signal for the modern, advanced age in which we now live. A time when the world benefits from all technological developments and increased freedom. But these same developments have also turned our world upside down: a pandemic, climate change, changing power relations. At the same time, there are inspiring counter-movements that try to improve the living conditions of people, animals and nature on our beloved planet.

This program opens with compositions from the roaring twenties of the last century by Vaughan Williams and Henriette Bosmans and soon continues with contemporary works in which birds, nature and meditative patterns play a special role.

Enjoy the rare combination of percussion, harp and violin: the very different qualities of these instruments conjure up a magical orchestral sound world.

Henriëtte Bosmans, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Louis Andriessen

Kate Moore, Arvo Part, Lou Harrison

Sunday 12:45-13:45
Bohemian Burlesque
Alma Quartet
Alma Quartet.png

From a cheerful and deeply melancholy trip through Vienna in the 1920s with Korngold to a desolate and emotional visual spectacle from Bohemia by Schulhoff.


The 2nd string quartet by Erich Wolfgang Korngold is an ode to the city of Vienna with nods to Johan Strauss II. Korngold wrote the work just before he left for Hollywood and it's packed with romantic and cinematic characters. 


Erwin Schulhoff was an almost 'forgotten' composer who was allowed to enjoy a short existence due to the outbreak of the Second World War. An ardent lover of jazz and new music, Schulhoff searched for his own musical language and soon found it in the esoteric and mysterious atmospheres typical of the composers from Bohemia such as Janacek, Mahler and Dvorak.

Marc Daniel van Biemen - violin
Benjamin Peled - violin
Jeroen Woudstra - viola
Clement Peigne - cello

Juul de Metz - pole dance
Sunday 14:00-15:00
Roaring Twenties
Calefax Reed Quintet

Composers in the early twentieth century lived in a musically tilting era. Romanticism was on its last legs, Europe was yearning for new inspiration. In addition, a carnage of an unprecedented size and nature took place in Europe: the First World War. In the years that followed, the continent licked its wounds, remembered the fallen and reflected on the events.

The United States of America, still a relatively new nation, had suffered relatively little. Although the country had played an important military role and lost many young lives in the process, the battlefield was obviously thousands of miles from home. The economy had not suffered from the war, in fact, the arms industry had made a substantial contribution to it. American households suddenly had products they could only dream of before: automobiles, radios, the first washing machines! People danced in dance houses and went to the cinema. Jazz sounded on the radio: the “Roaring Twenties” had arrived.

Jazz, luxury, individualism, films, but also women's emancipation, new clothing styles and the still popular 'bob haircut'. The Roaring Twenties slowly made their way to Europe after the First World War. In this program Calefax shows how George Gershwin fuses classical and jazz into his phenomenal Rhapsody in Blue, after which the musicians dance on the edge with the Berlin criminals and prostitutes from Kurt Weill's Dreigroschen-Suite. A musical cross-section of a turbulent time.

Oliver Boekhoorn - oboe
Bart de Kater - clarinet
Raaf Hekkema - saxophone
Jelte Althuis - bass clarinet 
Alban Wesly - bassoon
Sunday 15:00-15:45
Workshop Shim Sham
Swing in Utrecht

Shim Sham is one of the most famous and fun dances of the 1920s and is based on tap dance, jazz and charleston.

Swing along to compelling music and learn to dance in the style of the 1920s. 

This dance is also very suitable as a solo dance. 

Workshop for young and old. 

Sunday 15:45-16:45
Overwater Hot France.png
Tony Overwater's Hot Club de France
Tony Overwater - double bass
Julia Philippens - violin
Maarten van den Grinten  - guitar
Reinier Voet - guitar


While swing bands were making waves in America, another form of Jazz emerged in France. Musicians such as Django Reinhardt, Stephane Grappelli and others developed a style that would later become known as Hot Club de France.

Two guitars, a violin and a bass in an intense and intimate interplay.

Especially for this occasion, Tony Overwater invited three great musicians, violinist Julia Philippens, known from Fuse, guitarist Maarten van der Grinten and guitarist Reinier Voet, who specializes in Hot club de France. Together they play a contemporary version of the Hot Club de France and will close the festival in a swinging way.

Sunday 17:00-18:00

Together with vocaliste Sanne Huijbregts en visual artist V&J , the ensemble Ikarai gives a new twist to Haruki Murakami's legendary story 'Kafka on the Shore'. In MURAKAMI, Ikarai takes the audience into the mind of the writer Murakami.

Fish that fall from the sky, talking cats, philosophizing prostitutes, places where time does not exist and thoughts that become reality. Based on texts by writer Frank Sierra Ikarai plays music that captures the magic of Murakami in a cinematic combination of classical and jazz.

Improvisation, composition and narration merge into a new form of concert experience: the world of a writer, translated into music.


Sanne Huijbregts - vocals

Julian Schneemann – piano

Jeroen Batterink – drums

Tessel Hersbach – violin

Yanna Pelser – viola

Bence Huszar – cello

Camille Jansen – double bass, composition 

bottom of page